Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Slow Motion Lightning Video

May 3, 2023.

On the afternoon of Tuesday, May 3rd I chased a multicellular severe thunderstorm between Carlsbad and Artesia, New Mexico. It produced brief pea to dime size hail in south Carlsbad along with a 63 mph thunderstorm wind gust at 5:56 PM MDT at the Carlsbad Airport ASOS (Automated Surface Observing System). I was sitting on the side of US Hwy 285 north of Carlsbad, or 6 miles west of Lake Avalon, when I measured a thunderstorm wind gust to 66 mph. See my blog post of the event via this link.

My video was shot with my GoPro Hero11 Black camera. I slowed the clips way town to grab the lightning in slow motion. This storm was very dark so to speak so the lightning wasn’t all that vivid…and not many strikes at that. I can’t wait to do this with our first good prolific lightning producing storm at night.

My cover photo was shot in Artesia looking north at Cumulonimbus mammatus clouds (CBMAM).

Share

Read What's Going On - Waking Up To The Truth! in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

0 Comments
What's Going On - Waking Up To The Truth!
What's Going On - Waking Up To The Truth!
Authors
Wendell L. Malone